Hello poker friends!

Poker tournamentsIsn´t live tournaments really fun to watch and follow? The greatest of them all is of course World Series Of Poker, the World Championship in Poker that has been played every year since 1970 and has increased in popularity for every year since the debut.

In the last decennium more and more live tournament series have started, for example European Poker Tour (EPT), World Poker Tour (WPT), Unibet Open, Redbet Live and so on. This year there will be a great change in the tournament series WPT. The season final will only be open for the previous winners of an WPT tournament. This season all winners get an free ticket to the final as usual, it´s included in the first prize in every WPT tournament. Players who have won earlier will be invited, but has to pay the $15 400 buy in by themselves.

The WPT season final has also got a new name ”WPT Tournament of the Champions” and will be hosted at Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood the 21 of april. Earlier the season final was called ”The WPT Championship” and has been won by players like the swede Martin de Knijff, Carlos Mortensen, Scott Seiver and Marvin Rettenmaier.

Every season one player is announced ”WPT Player of the year”. All players gather points when they participate in an WPT tournament, and the player that gather the most points during the season is awarded the title player of the year. This concept also exists in WSOP, EPT and many more live tournament series. To make a simplified explanation about the point system you can say that the better finishing position a player get in a tournament, the more points the player are awarded. But this is not the whole truth, the point system is based on a complicated formula that calculate the exact point a players prestation is worth based on the size of the prizepool and the players finishing position.

Players like Bertrand Grospellier and Daniel Negreanu has been awarded with the title WPT player of the year through the history.